The kosmos ultrasound price starts with the device, but the purchase decision includes a required subscription and the practical question of whether a used unit will transfer cleanly. Kosmos by EchoNous is an AI-assisted handheld ultrasound system with a triple-probe design for cardiac, lung, abdominal, and vascular scanning.
A new Kosmos sells for $7,495-$11,995 plus a $720 per year required subscription Source. Used Kosmos units run $3,500-$6,500 on the secondary market Source.
That puts Kosmos in an awkwardly interesting spot. It is priced above the cheapest handheld probes, while promising a broader workflow than a single-probe device. For a physician or clinic, the question is less about finding the lowest sticker price and more about whether that broader scope earns its place in the exam room.
Kosmos Price at a Glance
A new Kosmos sells for $7,495-$11,995 plus a $720 per year required subscription Source. That is the starting point for budgeting, not a footnote to read after procurement has already decided the device fits.
Purchase path
Device price
Subscription
Scope
New Kosmos
$7,495-$11,995
$720 per year required
Cardiac, lung, abdominal, vascular
Used Kosmos
$3,500-$6,500
Verify access and eligibility
Depends on transfer status
Butterfly iQ+
$2,499-$3,999 new
n/a
Handheld POCUS alternative
Used Kosmos units run $3,500-$6,500 on the secondary market Source. The discount is meaningful, particularly for a practice adding POCUS without a large capital budget. But a used-device listing only answers one part of the buying question: what the seller wants for the hardware.
You also need to know whether the serial number can be transferred, whether service remains available, whether software access follows the device, and whether the accessories in the listing are the accessories you need. A low used price can turn into a money pit if the system arrives without a workable path to support or software.
The Kosmos used buying guide lays out the transfer checks in more detail. Start there before treating a marketplace listing as a completed price comparison.
Kosmos has been FDA-cleared since 2019 Source. That history matters because buyers are not evaluating a speculative hardware concept. They are evaluating the current economics of an established handheld platform, including recurring service costs and a secondary market where records can be incomplete.
Price lists also tend to flatten meaningful differences. A handheld system can look expensive beside another probe, then look cheap beside a cart-based ultrasound system. The POCUS category's legacy price estimate spans $2,000-$50,000 from handheld probes to cart-based systems Source. Kosmos sits in the handheld end of that market, but it is not trying to be the bargain-bin handheld.
What the Triple-Probe Design Gets You
Kosmos is EchoNous' entry in the POCUS category, built around AI-assisted handheld ultrasound with a triple-probe design. Its intended-use scope includes cardiac, lung, abdominal, and vascular work.
That combination changes the workflow calculation. A clinician does not have to frame Kosmos as a device for one narrow bedside question. The system is built for teams that want to move among common scanning needs without treating each exam type as a separate equipment purchase.
Cardiac work is where many buyers will focus first. EchoNous positions Kosmos around an AI-assisted workflow, which can be attractive for clinicians developing confidence with image acquisition and interpretation support. The device still does not remove the need for clinical judgment, appropriate training, or a clear protocol for what happens after an abnormal scan. It can make the path from bedside question to usable image less cumbersome.
Lung scanning adds another routine use case. In acute, inpatient, and clinic settings, lung POCUS can become part of a repeated assessment workflow rather than a one-off event. A device that is already available for cardiac work may see more use when it also fits that routine.
Abdominal and vascular scanning widen the case for carrying a single handheld system. The value is not theoretical versatility. It is fewer interruptions when the clinical question changes. A patient who begins with one concern does not always remain one concern after the exam starts.
This is where device specifications become operational. A cheaper probe may be the correct choice for a team with a tightly defined use case. A broader system makes more sense when the same clinicians expect to scan across cardiac, lung, abdominal, and vascular indications. Buying the wrong scope to save money is a familiar kind of false economy.
AI assistance belongs in that same practical frame. It may help support acquisition and workflow, but it does not turn POCUS into an autopilot. Clinics still need governance, image documentation, training expectations, escalation paths, and a realistic view of who will use the device. Hardware gets approved once. Workflow gets tested every day.
Kosmos has been FDA-cleared since 2019 Source. For buyers, that is useful context when weighing a device that combines portability with a wider intended-use scope than a single-purpose tool.
The Required Subscription, Explained
A new Kosmos sells for $7,495-$11,995 plus a $720 per year required subscription Source. The word “required” deserves more attention than it usually gets in product comparisons.
The device price is the upfront commitment. The subscription is part of the ongoing cost of keeping the system supported. If a clinic budgets only for the hardware, it has not budgeted for Kosmos.
Service and warranty are included in the $720 annual subscription Source. That gives the recurring fee a concrete role. It is not just a software line item hanging off the side of the purchase. It covers support and warranty protection that a clinical device buyer would otherwise need to price separately or accept as a risk.
That does not mean every buyer should accept the recurring cost without scrutiny. It means the comparison should be honest. Ask what service access looks like, what warranty coverage applies, how software access is handled, and what happens if the device changes hands. Then compare the total operating model against alternatives rather than comparing only the opening invoice.
For a used purchase, this becomes more important. Used Kosmos units run $3,500-$6,500 on the secondary market Source. The lower hardware price may be compelling, but it is only compelling if the buyer can verify service eligibility, software access, training access, accessories, warranty status, recall status, title, and serial-number transfer.
A seller may have a clean-looking unit and incomplete paperwork. Those are different things.
The Kosmos cost breakdown is the better place to work through device cost, recurring cost, and ownership questions side by side. Procurement teams often need that detail. Individual clinicians should want it too, especially when they are making the case internally.
The legacy editorial profile for Kosmos should also be treated as a buyer's-guide record rather than a substitute for current vendor documentation. Confirm current commercial terms directly before signing anything. Regulatory and claim-level reconciliation remains pending, so verify the configuration, service eligibility, and intended use for the specific unit under consideration.
Kosmos vs Other Handheld POCUS Devices
A competing Butterfly iQ+ probe is estimated at $2,499-$3,999 new Source. On upfront device price alone, that creates a clear gap between Butterfly iQ+ and a new Kosmos.
Device or category
Price context
Subscription
Intended buying case
Kosmos
$7,495-$11,995 new
$720 per year required
Broad handheld workflow across cardiac, lung, abdominal, and vascular use
Butterfly iQ+
$2,499-$3,999 new
n/a
Lower-cost handheld POCUS comparison
POCUS category
$2,000-$50,000
n/a
Handheld probes through cart-based systems
A new Kosmos sells for $7,495-$11,995 plus a $720 per year required subscription Source. A competing Butterfly iQ+ probe is estimated at $2,499-$3,999 new Source. Kosmos therefore asks buyers to justify a higher entry cost through its broader triple-probe design, AI-assisted workflow, and the way it fits their clinical practice.
The cheapest handheld is often the winner for a clinician who needs one focused capability and will use it often. That buyer should be skeptical of paying for scope they will not use. A device gathering dust in a drawer is expensive at any price.
Kosmos has a stronger argument for a clinic that wants one portable system to cover cardiac, lung, abdominal, and vascular work. In that setting, the question becomes whether one multi-use device reduces enough friction to earn the premium. The answer depends on case mix, training, existing imaging access, and who owns the device after it arrives.
The category comparison can also mislead if handheld systems are judged against cart-based machines as though they solve identical problems. The POCUS category's legacy price estimate spans $2,000-$50,000 from handheld probes to cart-based systems Source. Handheld POCUS wins on portability and proximity to the patient. Cart-based systems can win when a department needs a different imaging setup, a different workflow, or a different clinical standard.
A useful buying process starts with the clinical questions your team asks most often. Then identify who will scan, where they will scan, what documentation they need, and whether they need a device that travels between settings. The device should follow the workflow, not the other way around.
For a direct handheld comparison, see the Butterfly iQ+ cost guide and the POCUS category overview. The spread across the category is wide enough that “handheld ultrasound” is not a sufficient purchasing category by itself.
Buying Notes Before You Commit
Kosmos is best evaluated as a system purchase. The device, subscription, service coverage, warranty, accessories, software access, and training all affect whether it works in practice.
Start with the new-unit quote. A new Kosmos sells for $7,495-$11,995 plus a $720 per year required subscription Source. Ask the seller to state the device configuration, included accessories, subscription terms, service coverage, warranty coverage, and any training provisions in writing.
If you are considering used equipment, ask for the serial number before money changes hands. Used Kosmos units run $3,500-$6,500 on the secondary market Source. Verify title, recall status, service eligibility, software access, training, accessories, and warranty after transfer. If any of those answers are vague, the discount needs to be large enough to justify the risk. Often it is not.
Then test the clinical fit. Kosmos has been FDA-cleared since 2019 Source, with intended-use scope across cardiac, lung, abdominal, and vascular work. That is a useful breadth for a team that expects to scan across those applications. It is less compelling for a buyer whose use case remains narrow.
The buyer-kit checklist should sit alongside this decision: identify the users, define the exam types, assign image-review responsibility, document the escalation path, and determine who owns subscription renewal. Those questions are less glamorous than a device demo. They are also where a good purchase turns into a usable program.
Commercial terms and exact-model provenance remain subject to current source checks.
Reader service card
Practice ownership and buying signals
OwnershipNo reader benchmark yet
EvaluationNo reader benchmark yet
Replacement intentNo reader benchmark yet
SponsorNo sponsor
Device Pulse is not collecting these actions on this page. Disabled controls show the planned reader service without creating a response, lead, sponsor relationship, or vendor request.
Activation requires a separate consent notice, controlled storage, duplicate and suppression rules, retention and deletion controls, named vendor-transfer disclosure, and an audit log. Newsletter signup does not activate these controls.
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does Kosmos cost?
New Kosmos units sell for $7,495-$11,995 + $720/yr from EchoNous and authorized dealers. Used and refurbished units typically run $3,500-$6,500 on the secondary market depending on age, software version, and included applicators. Per-session pricing for treatments is N/A. Annual consumables run $720 (required subscription) and annual maintenance averages Included in subscription. Practices financing the device should expect monthly payments around 2-2.5% of the total purchase price over a five-year term.
Is Kosmos FDA cleared?
Yes. Kosmos received FDA 510(k) clearance in 2019. The clearance covers the indications listed in the device labeling. Off-label uses are common in clinical practice but should be discussed with patients explicitly. Physicians should verify current clearance status and any updates directly with EchoNous or via the FDA 510(k) database before making a purchase decision.
What is the clinical evidence behind Kosmos?
30+ published studies. Strong cardiac imaging comparison data against cart-based systems. When evaluating clinical evidence, look for blinded evaluator studies, independent funding sources, and peer-reviewed publications rather than manufacturer-funded white papers or conference posters. Evidence quality varies widely between devices in the same category, even when the marketing materials look similar.
Which specialties use Kosmos?
Kosmos is primarily used by Emergency Medicine, Internal Medicine, Family Medicine, OB/GYN, Cardiology, Orthopedics. Best fit varies by patient mix and practice economics. Emergency medicine and cardiology practices that want AI-assisted cardiac imaging in a handheld. Hospital internal medicine teams that need rapid triage ultrasound.
How long does a Kosmos treatment session take?
Each Kosmos treatment session runs Point-of-care (as needed). The recommended protocol is N/A (diagnostic tool). Total chair time including consultation, setup, treatment, and post-treatment care is typically 1.5-2x the listed treatment time. Practices planning daily treatment volume should use the realistic chair-time number, not just the active treatment minutes.
What are the main pros and cons of Kosmos?
Strengths: Triple-probe design in one handle (phased + curved + linear); AI-assisted cardiac measurements and view guidance; Strong cardiac imaging performance for emergency medicine. Weaknesses: Highest upfront price point among handheld POCUS options; Triple-probe design is heavier than single-probe alternatives; Required $720/year subscription for full features. Every device in this category has tradeoffs. The right choice depends on which strengths matter most to your practice and which weaknesses you can tolerate.
What does Kosmos cost to operate annually?
Annual operating costs for Kosmos include consumables ($720 (required subscription)), maintenance and service (Included in subscription), and operator labor. Practices doing high treatment volumes should also budget for additional applicator wear and replacement. Total annual operating cost typically runs 5-15% of the original purchase price, with consumables driving most of the variability between low and high estimates.
Who manufactures Kosmos and how stable is the company?
Kosmos is manufactured by EchoNous, headquartered in Redmond, WA and founded in 2007. The company is privately held and operates in 30+ countries. Standalone annual revenue is not separately reported (Not disclosed (private)). Manufacturer financial stability matters because it affects warranty support, parts availability, and long-term software updates. Physicians making capital purchases should always check the manufacturer's recent financial trajectory before committing.
What does Kosmos cost in 2026?
As of April 2026, Kosmos new unit pricing is $7,495-$11,995 + $720/yr from EchoNous and authorized dealers. Refurbished and used unit pricing typically runs $3,500-$6,500 on the secondary market. Per-session treatment pricing for patient billing is N/A. Pricing has held relatively stable through 2025-2026 across the pocus category, though specific applicator and consumable pricing varies. Practices should request current quotes directly from EchoNous sales for the most accurate 2026 pricing because list price varies meaningfully by region, configuration, and trade-in deals.
How does Kosmos compare to other pocus devices in 2026?
In the 2026 pocus category, Kosmos competes primarily with the other devices reviewed on DevicePulse: butterfly-iq-plus, ge-vscan-air, philips-lumify, clarius-hd3. The differentiation comes down to clinical evidence depth, treatment time per session, applicator versatility, and total cost of ownership over a 5-year period. Most practices choose between 2-3 finalists based on specialty mix, patient volume, and existing equipment compatibility. Run a side-by-side total cost of ownership analysis before committing to a capital purchase.
What is the Kosmos treatment protocol and recommended session count?
The Kosmos recommended treatment protocol is N/A (diagnostic tool), with each session running Point-of-care (as needed). Total treatment plan duration depends on the indication and patient response. For patient pricing and ROI calculations, multiply per-session pricing (N/A) by the recommended session count to get the patient-facing treatment course cost. Practices typically build the treatment plan into a package price rather than billing per session, which improves patient retention through the full protocol.
What's the latest news and updates for Kosmos in 2026?
As of April 2026, Kosmos continues commercial availability from EchoNous. Recent industry updates relevant to the device include manufacturer financial disclosures, new clinical evidence publications, software updates, and FDA labeling changes. EchoNous shares periodic business updates that inform the long-term outlook for Kosmos support and continued investment. Check the manufacturer's investor relations page or press releases for the most current operational status.
Get the Device Quote Review Kit
Open the printable buyer checklist now, then get the planned Tuesday brief with price, FDA, safety, evidence, and manufacturer signals.
Free kit available immediately. Planned Tuesday brief. Unsubscribe anytime. Privacy.