MagVenture

MagVenture TMS Therapy

Standard TMS + Theta Burst Stimulation (TBS)

NEW$75,000-$140,000 USED$35,000-$75,000 FDACleared 2015
Full cost breakdown, financing, and Section 179 →

Last updated: 2026-09-15

Open shortlist

Model, regulatory, and ownership file

Category
TMS & Neuromodulation
Manufacturer
MagVenture
Model scope
MagVenture TMS Therapy. Catalog model name; exact configuration needs reconciliation.
Regulatory status
Clearance reported; exact record pending. No exact identifier reconciled.
Labeled or intended-use scope
Left dorsolateral prefrontal cortex
Configuration
Standard TMS + Theta Burst Stimulation (TBS)
Consumables and recurring dependencies
$1,500-$4,000 (treatment caps)
Service and warranty
$4,500-$9,000
Training
Confirm the current manufacturer or distributor requirement in writing.
Software
Confirm version, subscription, security support, and transfer eligibility in writing.
Used transfer
Verify serial number, title, recall status, service eligibility, software access, training, accessories, and warranty after transfer.
Evidence
Legacy editorial profile; claim-level packet pending. Packet: No dated source packet yet. Access date: unknown.
Limitations
Commercial terms and exact-model provenance remain subject to current source checks.

Practice ownership and buying signals

OwnershipNo reader benchmark yet
EvaluationNo reader benchmark yet
Replacement intentNo reader benchmark yet
SponsorNo sponsor

Device Pulse is not collecting these actions on this page. Disabled controls show the planned reader service without creating a response, lead, sponsor relationship, or vendor request.

Show alternatives

Activation requires a separate consent notice, controlled storage, duplicate and suppression rules, retention and deletion controls, named vendor-transfer disclosure, and an audit log. Newsletter signup does not activate these controls.

Overview

MagVenture TMS Therapy is MagVenture's entry in the tms devices category, built on Standard TMS + Theta Burst Stimulation (TBS). The platform treats left dorsolateral prefrontal cortex, with 3 minutes (tbs) or 19-37 minutes (standard) and a recommended course of 20-36 sessions over 4-9 weeks. FDA cleared in 2015, it lists in the $75,000-$140,000 range for new units and $35,000-$75,000 on the secondary market.

First TMS platform FDA-cleared for Theta Burst Stimulation (TBS) in 2021. TBS delivers the same clinical effect as standard TMS in a 3-minute session instead of 37 minutes, which dramatically increases patient throughput. The mechanism is what separates MagVenture TMS Therapy from competitors in the same category. Where it fits in your practice depends on patient demographics, treatment volume, and whether you need a flagship platform or a value-tier alternative.

MagVenture TMS Therapy is manufactured by MagVenture (Farum, Denmark, founded 1992). The device benefits from MagVenture's long manufacturer history and presence across 60+ countries. Service support, training availability, and parts access vary by region. Practices considering this device should validate dealer presence and technical support coverage in their area before signing a contract.

TREATMENT AREAS

Left dorsolateral prefrontal cortex

TREATMENT TIME

3 minutes (TBS) or 19-37 minutes (standard)

SESSIONS

20-36 sessions over 4-9 weeks

PER SESSION

$250-$500 (insurance reimbursable)

CONSUMABLES/YR

$1,500-$4,000 (treatment caps)

MAINTENANCE/YR

$4,500-$9,000

Pros & Cons

Pros

  • TBS protocol cuts per-session time by more than 90 percent
  • Same clinical efficacy as standard TMS with faster throughput
  • Lower capital cost than NeuroStar flagship platform
  • Danish build quality and European clinical research base
  • Growing US installed base in higher-volume TMS practices

Cons

  • Insurance reimbursement for TBS varies by payer
  • Smaller US sales network than NeuroStar
  • Brand recognition below Neuronetics in the US psychiatry market
  • Some psychiatrists prefer the longer standard protocol for certain patients
  • TBS is newer and has a thinner US outcomes dataset than 10-hertz TMS

Clinical Evidence

Multiple RCTs supporting both standard TMS and TBS protocols. Strong European research base, growing US evidence. The published evidence base for MagVenture TMS Therapy reflects how long the platform has been in market and how much the manufacturer has invested in clinical research. Devices with FDA clearance dates before 2018 typically have stronger peer-reviewed datasets than newer entrants. For physicians evaluating this device, the questions worth asking are whether the studies used blinded evaluators, what the sample sizes were, and whether the research was independent or manufacturer-funded.

Compare MagVenture TMS Therapy's evidence base against the category benchmark. In MagVenture TMS Therapy's category, the strongest evidence typically comes from devices that have been on the market for at least five years and have multiple randomized controlled trials with independent funding. Marketing claims from any manufacturer should be cross-checked against PubMed-indexed publications rather than conference posters or white papers. Conference presentations are not equivalent to peer review.

For practices that require strong clinical evidence (academic dermatology, plastic surgery groups with research interests, multi-physician practices that need to defend purchase decisions internally), the evidence profile should be a top-three decision factor. For high-volume cash-pay practices where patient demand drives device selection, brand recognition often matters more than the underlying evidence base. Both approaches are defensible, but they lead to different device selections.

ROI Analysis

Practice ROI for MagVenture TMS Therapy depends on three variables: capital cost, per-session revenue, and treatment volume. At a new unit price of $75,000-$140,000, financed over five years at typical equipment rates, the monthly payment runs roughly 2-2.5% of total cost. Per-session revenue at $250-$500 (insurance reimbursable) means the device needs to fill enough treatment slots monthly to cover the payment, consumables ($1,500-$4,000 (treatment caps)), maintenance ($4,500-$9,000), and operator labor.

For a practice doing 2-3 treatments per day at the midpoint of the per-session range, MagVenture TMS Therapy typically reaches break-even at 12-18 months for the lower end of the new pricing range, or 18-30 months at the high end. Used and refurbished units in the $35,000-$75,000 range can cut payback periods in half. The biggest practice mistake is over-projecting treatment volume. Physicians who run their numbers on 4-6 daily treatments rarely hit those targets in year one.

The realistic question is not whether MagVenture TMS Therapy can pay back. Most devices in this price range do, eventually. The question is whether your practice can fill the schedule. Practices with existing patient flow in Psychiatry, Neurology have the easiest path. Practices building demand from scratch should plan for 6-12 months of marketing investment before the device pays for itself.

Best For

High-volume TMS practices that want to increase daily patient throughput through TBS. Psychiatrists opening new TMS practices who want faster sessions as a competitive differentiator. The fit is strongest for practices that match the device's positioning on price, clinical evidence requirements, and patient throughput expectations. Practices with mismatched economics often regret these purchases within 18 months.

Beyond practice type, MagVenture TMS Therapy fits best when the patient base aligns with the device's strengths. For tms devices platforms, this usually means matching device capability to patient demographics, skin type range, and willingness to pay per-session pricing. Practices in markets where patients price-shop heavily need to factor that into device selection. Practices in concierge or luxury markets can charge premium pricing that justifies premium platforms.

Buying Guide

New MagVenture TMS Therapy units sell for $75,000-$140,000 from MagVenture or authorized dealers. Refurbished and used units sell for $35,000-$75,000 on the secondary market. The decision between new and used comes down to warranty coverage, software version, included applicators, and consumable allowances. New units typically include a 12-24 month warranty, current software, all applicators, and a starter consumable package. Used units usually carry no warranty, may have outdated software, and require separate consumable purchases.

What to negotiate: applicator quantity (always ask for additional applicators thrown in), consumable starter packs, training and certification fees, extended warranty coverage, marketing materials, and clinical training for additional providers. MagVenture sales reps typically have 10-15% list price flexibility and far more on bundled deals. End-of-quarter and end-of-year are the strongest negotiation windows. Trade-in programs for older devices can reduce net cost by another 10-20%.

What to watch for: software lock-out fees on used units (some manufacturers disable software on resold devices), per-pulse or per-treatment licensing fees that show up after purchase, consumable price increases over the device life, and service contract terms. Always require a written quote that breaks out hardware, applicators, training, first-year service, and consumables separately. Bundled quotes hide the line items where margins live.

MagVenture TMS Machine Cost: Pricing Guide

MagVenture TMS machine cost runs $75,000-$140,000 for a new system, while used units run $35,000-$75,000. Device Pulse reports per-session pricing of $250-$500, which is insurance reimbursable.

That range gives a practice or hospital a starting point. It does not settle the purchase decision. The machine price is only one cost line, and MagVenture's case rests heavily on the economics of Theta Burst Stimulation.

MagVenture TMS Therapy is built on Standard TMS + Theta Burst Stimulation (TBS). It treats the left dorsolateral prefrontal cortex and is manufactured by MagVenture in Farum, Denmark.

MagVenture TMS Machine Cost in 2026

The purchase price is the first line item buyers ask about because it is the check they have to write. New MagVenture systems run $75,000-$140,000, and used units run $35,000-$75,000, according to Device Pulse's MagVenture review.

Per-session pricing runs $250-$500 and is insurance reimbursable, according to Device Pulse's MagVenture review. A device can look expensive on the purchase order and still make sense inside a reimbursable clinical program. The opposite is also true. A lower acquisition price does little good if the program cannot keep a schedule full or service the device quickly.

The sensible way to read the range is as an opening budget, not a final total. A new system generally offers the cleanest path for warranty, installation, training, and vendor support. A used system can lower the upfront cost, but the buyer should know its service history, coil condition, software status, available warranty, and local technical support before treating the discount as savings.

The MagVenture cost breakdown is useful when your finance team needs the device line separated from the recurring operating costs. That conversation tends to get muddled when someone treats a capital purchase and a clinical program as the same thing.

MagVenture was founded in 1992 in Farum, Denmark, and operates across 60+ countries, according to Device Pulse. Geographic reach is not a substitute for local support. A hospital system should validate dealer presence, installation capacity, response expectations, and technical support coverage in its own market before signing a contract.

Cost lineMagVentureBrainsWay Deep TMS
New system$75,000-$140,000$100,000-$200,000
Used system$35,000-$75,000$50,000-$120,000
Per-session pricing$250-$500n/a
Treatment cap consumables per year$1,500-$4,000n/a
Maintenance per year$4,500-$9,000n/a

The BrainsWay comparison ranges come from Device Pulse's cost guide, which puts a new Deep TMS system at $100,000-$200,000 and used units at $50,000-$120,000. The table is a purchasing aid, not a clinical verdict. Price can narrow the field. It should not choose the platform by itself.

What the MagVenture Price Includes

MagVenture TMS Therapy is a platform, not a single undifferentiated machine. The clinical configuration matters because Standard TMS and TBS create different scheduling possibilities. Buyers should ask the seller to spell out the exact hardware, coils, software, training, installation, warranty terms, service coverage, and any site-readiness requirements included in the quoted price.

That level of detail protects both sides. Practices often compare a low headline quote with a more complete quote and assume the difference is vendor margin. Sometimes it is. Sometimes one quote includes the practical work needed to get patients treated while the other leaves the buyer holding a list of follow-on expenses.

The platform was FDA cleared in 2015, with a recommended course of 20-36 sessions over 4-9 weeks, according to Device Pulse. MagVenture was also the first TMS platform FDA-cleared for Theta Burst Stimulation in 2021.

For psychiatrists, that distinction affects how a treatment plan fits into the day. For practice owners, it affects whether the service line fits into the existing clinic. For hospital buyers, it affects staffing, room demand, and the value of keeping a device available rather than idle.

The TMS and neuromodulation category provides the broader market context. It helps to compare the clinical and operating model around a platform, not only the sticker price.

Theta Burst Stimulation and Patient Throughput

TBS is MagVenture's strongest economic argument. TBS delivers the same clinical effect as standard TMS in a 3-minute session instead of 37 minutes, according to Device Pulse.

The difference changes the shape of a day. A standard protocol can dominate a treatment room and tie up staff attention for long stretches. A shorter TBS session gives the clinic more room to absorb cancellations, fit in evaluations, and keep its schedule from turning into a mess after one late patient.

That does not mean every patient will receive the same protocol, or that every organization can instantly turn shorter sessions into higher utilization. Clinical judgment still governs treatment. Staffing, referral flow, payer rules, room availability, and patient adherence determine whether theoretical throughput becomes booked care.

But the underlying advantage is straightforward. When treatment time falls from 37 minutes to 3 minutes, the machine has more potential capacity. A program that cannot access that capacity because it has weak referrals or poor scheduling will not capture much value. A program with demand and disciplined operations has a different equation.

This is where hospital procurement can get too focused on acquisition cost. A system that costs less upfront but consumes far more room time can become the more expensive choice once the program is established. The purchase committee should ask clinical leadership how the intended protocol mix changes scheduling, staffing, and referral capacity.

TBS also affects patient experience. Repeated appointments are easier to accommodate when the appointment itself does not consume most of an hour. That does not erase the commitment involved in a full course of care. It does reduce one source of friction for patients trying to fit treatment into work, family, and transportation constraints.

MagVenture wins this comparison when the organization has enough patient demand to use the shorter appointment window. A low-volume site may value other factors more heavily. A busy outpatient program or hospital service line has more to gain from a device that gives the schedule some breathing room.

Annual Operating Costs

The device purchase gets attention because it is visible. Annual operating costs determine whether the program stays financially comfortable after the launch period.

Treatment cap consumables run $1,500-$4,000 per year, while maintenance runs $4,500-$9,000 per year, according to Device Pulse's MagVenture review. Those are recurring costs, and they belong in the business case from the start.

Consumables are easy to minimize in a presentation because they are smaller than the machine price. That is a mistake. They are part of the actual cost of delivering treatment, and the range should be reconciled with the expected protocol mix, anticipated patient volume, and the organization's procurement process.

Maintenance deserves more scrutiny. Ask what is covered under warranty, what begins after warranty, what turnaround expectations apply, whether loaner equipment is available, and whether local technicians can respond without a long delay. A device out of service creates a repair bill, disrupts patient care, and turns a planned schedule into a triage exercise.

The contract should also make support coverage legible. "Service available" is vague. Buyers should understand who receives the call, who performs the work, what parts are included, and what happens when the equipment needs attention at an inconvenient moment. Equipment always chooses an inconvenient moment.

For hospital buyers, ownership may also touch facilities, information security, credentialing, room allocation, and purchasing workflows. Those items vary by organization, so they should be surfaced in the internal approval process rather than buried in a generic cost model.

MagVenture vs Other TMS Platforms on Cost

MagVenture's new-system range sits below the $100,000-$200,000 range reported for a new BrainsWay Deep TMS system, while used BrainsWay units run $50,000-$120,000, according to Device Pulse's BrainsWay cost guide.

That comparison gives MagVenture an upfront cost advantage on the published ranges. It does not establish that MagVenture is the right clinical or commercial fit for every program. Device selection depends on the treatments your clinicians plan to offer, the patient population you expect to serve, local referral patterns, support coverage, and the economics of the protocols you will use.

NeuroStar belongs in the same purchasing conversation for many hospital buyers, particularly where established local relationships or clinical familiarity shape the evaluation. The NeuroStar vs BrainsWay Deep TMS comparison can help frame that side of the market. MagVenture should be evaluated alongside both platforms using the same decision criteria, rather than comparing each quote in isolation.

A strong comparison process asks each vendor for a quote with matching assumptions. Include the clinical configuration, installation, training, service terms, consumables, warranty, and any recurring fees. If the assumptions differ, the quoted price will differ for reasons that have little to do with the underlying value of the platform.

MagVenture's TBS capability should be placed beside the cost comparison, not left in a clinical appendix. A buyer deciding between platforms is deciding how a treatment service operates day to day. The financial model should reflect that reality.

BrainsWay may be more expensive on the published purchase ranges. MagVenture may offer stronger throughput economics where TBS fits the program. NeuroStar may carry advantages specific to a buyer's local market or clinical preference. The winner is the platform whose clinical model and operating model match the program you are building.

Pros and Cons for Buyers

MagVenture's main advantage is the combination of Standard TMS and Theta Burst Stimulation. The published price range is lower than BrainsWay's published range, and the shorter TBS session can materially change how a busy clinic uses its rooms and staff.

The tradeoff is that machine price alone does not explain total ownership cost. Buyers still need a clear picture of annual treatment cap spending, maintenance, installation, warranty, local service, and the operational work needed to fill the schedule.

Used equipment may appeal to a practice looking to control its initial investment. That path requires more diligence, not less. Confirm the unit's condition, support eligibility, remaining useful life, and whether the seller can provide documentation that will satisfy your clinicians, finance team, and compliance process.

New equipment is easier to defend when the program needs predictable support and a clean implementation path. The premium can be worth it when downtime, training, and vendor accountability carry more weight than the initial purchase price.

The Buyer Kit Questions to Ask Before Signing

A buyer kit should force the vendor conversation beyond the device brochure. Request the full quote, service agreement, warranty language, consumables schedule, training plan, installation requirements, and a written explanation of local support coverage.

Ask the clinical team which protocols it expects to use and how TBS fits the intended care model. Ask operations how the program will schedule patients, staff treatment rooms, and handle missed appointments. Ask finance how it will treat the capital purchase and recurring expenses.

Then compare each vendor against the same assumptions. That is how a hospital avoids selecting a platform because one proposal made the first line look cheaper.

MagVenture is a credible option for buyers who value TBS throughput and want a published purchase range below BrainsWay's. The real question is whether your local support, clinical plan, and referral demand are strong enough to turn that advantage into a durable TMS program.

Alternatives to review

Use these profiles to build a short list. An alternative listing is not a claim of equivalence or superiority.

NeuroStar

NeuroStar: Psychiatrists starting a TMS practice who want the most established platform with the strongest insurance reimbursement track record. Practices that value the l

NEW $80,000-$150,000  ·  USED $40,000-$80,000

Review alternative →

BrainsWay Deep TMS

BrainsWay Deep TMS: Psychiatrists who want the deepest stimulation available and value the expanded indication set (OCD, smoking cessation). Practices serving treatment-resistant p

NEW $100,000-$200,000  ·  USED $50,000-$120,000

Review alternative →

EXOMIND

EXOMIND: Psychiatrists or multi-specialty practices already in the BTL ecosystem. Early adopters willing to bet on the 6-session protocol advantage.

NEW $100,000-$200,000  ·  USED Limited secondary market (too new)

Review alternative →

Nexstim NBT System

Nexstim NBT System: Academic medical centers, research programs, and specialty psychiatry practices that value MRI-guided targeting and can absorb the higher capital and per-patien

NEW $150,000-$250,000  ·  USED $70,000-$140,000

Review alternative →

Frequently Asked Questions

How much does MagVenture TMS Therapy cost?

New MagVenture TMS Therapy units sell for $75,000-$140,000 from MagVenture and authorized dealers. Used and refurbished units typically run $35,000-$75,000 on the secondary market depending on age, software version, and included applicators. Per-session pricing for treatments is $250-$500 (insurance reimbursable). Annual consumables run $1,500-$4,000 (treatment caps) and annual maintenance averages $4,500-$9,000. Practices financing the device should expect monthly payments around 2-2.5% of the total purchase price over a five-year term.

Is MagVenture TMS Therapy FDA cleared?

Yes. MagVenture TMS Therapy received FDA 510(k) clearance in 2015. The clearance covers the indications listed in the device labeling. Off-label uses are common in clinical practice but should be discussed with patients explicitly. Physicians should verify current clearance status and any updates directly with MagVenture or via the FDA 510(k) database before making a purchase decision.

What is the clinical evidence behind MagVenture TMS Therapy?

Multiple RCTs supporting both standard TMS and TBS protocols. Strong European research base, growing US evidence. When evaluating clinical evidence, look for blinded evaluator studies, independent funding sources, and peer-reviewed publications rather than manufacturer-funded white papers or conference posters. Evidence quality varies widely between devices in the same category, even when the marketing materials look similar.

Which specialties use MagVenture TMS Therapy?

MagVenture TMS Therapy is primarily used by Psychiatry, Neurology. Best fit varies by patient mix and practice economics. High-volume TMS practices that want to increase daily patient throughput through TBS. Psychiatrists opening new TMS practices who want faster sessions as a competitive differentiator.

How long does a MagVenture TMS Therapy treatment session take?

Each MagVenture TMS Therapy treatment session runs 3 minutes (TBS) or 19-37 minutes (standard). The recommended protocol is 20-36 sessions over 4-9 weeks. Total chair time including consultation, setup, treatment, and post-treatment care is typically 1.5-2x the listed treatment time. Practices planning daily treatment volume should use the realistic chair-time number, not just the active treatment minutes.

What are the main pros and cons of MagVenture TMS Therapy?

Strengths: TBS protocol cuts per-session time by more than 90 percent; Same clinical efficacy as standard TMS with faster throughput; Lower capital cost than NeuroStar flagship platform. Weaknesses: Insurance reimbursement for TBS varies by payer; Smaller US sales network than NeuroStar; Brand recognition below Neuronetics in the US psychiatry market. Every device in this category has tradeoffs. The right choice depends on which strengths matter most to your practice and which weaknesses you can tolerate.

What does MagVenture TMS Therapy cost to operate annually?

Annual operating costs for MagVenture TMS Therapy include consumables ($1,500-$4,000 (treatment caps)), maintenance and service ($4,500-$9,000), and operator labor. Practices doing high treatment volumes should also budget for additional applicator wear and replacement. Total annual operating cost typically runs 5-15% of the original purchase price, with consumables driving most of the variability between low and high estimates.

Who manufactures MagVenture TMS Therapy and how stable is the company?

MagVenture TMS Therapy is manufactured by MagVenture, headquartered in Farum, Denmark and founded in 1992. The company is privately held and operates in 60+ countries. Standalone annual revenue is not separately reported (Not disclosed (private)). Manufacturer financial stability matters because it affects warranty support, parts availability, and long-term software updates. Physicians making capital purchases should always check the manufacturer's recent financial trajectory before committing.

What does MagVenture TMS Therapy cost in 2026?

As of April 2026, MagVenture TMS Therapy new unit pricing is $75,000-$140,000 from MagVenture and authorized dealers. Refurbished and used unit pricing typically runs $35,000-$75,000 on the secondary market. Per-session treatment pricing for patient billing is $250-$500 (insurance reimbursable). Pricing has held relatively stable through 2025-2026 across the tms devices category, though specific applicator and consumable pricing varies. Practices should request current quotes directly from MagVenture sales for the most accurate 2026 pricing because list price varies meaningfully by region, configuration, and trade-in deals.

How does MagVenture TMS Therapy compare to other tms devices devices in 2026?

In the 2026 tms devices category, MagVenture TMS Therapy competes primarily with the other devices reviewed on DevicePulse: neurostar, brainsway-deep-tms, exomind, nexstim. The differentiation comes down to clinical evidence depth, treatment time per session, applicator versatility, and total cost of ownership over a 5-year period. Most practices choose between 2-3 finalists based on specialty mix, patient volume, and existing equipment compatibility. Run a side-by-side total cost of ownership analysis before committing to a capital purchase.

What is the MagVenture TMS Therapy treatment protocol and recommended session count?

The MagVenture TMS Therapy recommended treatment protocol is 20-36 sessions over 4-9 weeks, with each session running 3 minutes (TBS) or 19-37 minutes (standard). Total treatment plan duration depends on the indication and patient response. For patient pricing and ROI calculations, multiply per-session pricing ($250-$500 (insurance reimbursable)) by the recommended session count to get the patient-facing treatment course cost. Practices typically build the treatment plan into a package price rather than billing per session, which improves patient retention through the full protocol.

What's the latest news and updates for MagVenture TMS Therapy in 2026?

As of April 2026, MagVenture TMS Therapy continues commercial availability from MagVenture. Recent industry updates relevant to the device include manufacturer financial disclosures, new clinical evidence publications, software updates, and FDA labeling changes. MagVenture shares periodic business updates that inform the long-term outlook for MagVenture TMS Therapy support and continued investment. Check the manufacturer's investor relations page or press releases for the most current operational status.